Why would you do that?!

olympic rings

We are in our second round of inclement weather in two weeks. This time, trapped in our homes under a quarter inch of ice and a predicted 3 inches of snow.  All of which will be gone in less time than it took to come. School has been closed for 3 days and I am ready to drop kick the next person who asks me what’s for dinner. Ah, but alas we have one shining light guiding us through this “catastrophic” event, and that is the Winter Olympics.  Thank goodness we can train our focus upon these amazing athletes at 8pm every night and watch until our eyes give way to the Sand Man. This evening’s event is the women’s Alpine Skiing and the unanimous question within our house is a resounding, “WHY?? Why would you do that? Why would you hurl your body down an ice covered 70% drop for the equivalent distance of the height of the Washington Monument?…on two sticks? WHY? Now,  full disclosure, I blew out my ACL skiing so I have a hard time watching downhill skiing because I can’t help but relive my accident every time I see a skier fall. But in a small way I can relate a little with the downhiller. I get asked quite often, “Why?, Why do you put your body through all that training? Why would you want to endure 140.6 miles of punishment?” My response to those questions often depends upon my mood or who is asking. Lot’s of times I’ll just say, “Because it feels so good when I stop”, and other times I will go into the whole thing about loving a challenge and anyone can do it.  It is different for everyone of course but when it boils down to it, I think the common denominator of the athlete who does extreme races is the high you get from pushing yourself beyond the ordinary. Now, don’t get me wrong, I certainly do not put myself in the same realm as the downhill racer, those people have nerves of steel, or a loose screw, whatever you want to call it. But I do understand the desire to go out and push your body beyond it’s comfort zone. It’s simple. It’s because it’s thrilling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

